What happens if I go over by data transfer quota?
Our transfer quotas are soft limits. This means that your VPS will continue without any degredation in performance. Although we reserve the right to charge 4p/GB above your allocated data transfer quota, in reality we will only do this if we are charged excess usage fees by our upstream providers.
GigaTux has a data transfer quota itself for each server, and only if this is breached will charges be passed on. This usually means that only if many other VPS users are using their quota will you be charged for excess usage above and beyond your own quota.
This answer was last updated on 2009-08-20